✿ what may be noticed

tomorrow, while you’re walking, stop
at the first scrap
of something tossed
away—a shred
of paper or something
plastic—a bottle cap
bent
by the fingers of someone thinking
of something far away

something you notice
in the grass
that shouldn’t be there—
something in the tumble
of asphalt and gravel
at the edge of the road

and take that
something you found
and bring it home.
keep it there.
imagine it’s your job to love it.

About nosuchthingasastraightline

I grew up in tiny Lyme, New Hampshire, where I drew, roamed the surrounding woods, and first entertained the idea of God while listening to my mom's Beatles records. I studied biology at Harvard University where I wrote for The Harvard Lampoon and also began writing poetry. I have since made a living variously as a comedy screenwriter, teacher, and private tutor in math, science and writing. I’ve released three CDs of original music as the singer-songwriter and guitar player for Crooked Roads (listen to latest tracks here: https://soundcloud.com/crooked-roads). My poetry writing has been inspired by Rumi, Billy Collins, William Carlos Williams, e.e. cummings, Antonio Machado, Federico Garcia Lorca, and others. My two books of poetry, "The Morning I Married the Sky," and “Free this Morning” are both available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ✿ what may be noticed

  1. Amy says:

    I’m terribly excited; I’m a notorious trash-picker-upper and until just this moment upon reading your poem, have also been a notoriously frustrated-with-trash-leavers while said trash-picking-upping. While priding myself on trying to leave things better than I found them, it hasn’t occurred to me ’til just now – upon reading your piece – that I ought maybe to take this trash-picking-up thing a step further… “Love it,” like you said, by loving its “tosser” (my translation of what you meant). Thank you for some helpful conviction, for an unexpected stretching. (I don’t know if that was your intention or not, but may you be encouraged for the positive result regardless?) AND enjoying your poetry. I am looking forward to reading more of your work, and thanks again for for this bit!

    • Wow, Amy. It’s wonderful to hear that this poem touched a match to something inside you. It’s fascinating to hear too how people take in and interpret what I write, which is not always the same way I interpret it, as in this case. Thank you so much for letting me know. Despite my delay in getting back to you, I very much appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

