soundless the sun

soundless the sun
this time of day
i walk so slow-
ly not needing
to turn
my awe into words
not needing even
to call it mine

and i think of Vincent
and believe
that having died
he’d be now more
at ease and walk
with me as slow
as this

i’d like to show him
the tree i stopped
in front of the one
whose leaves i loved
and will
not describe
except to say they turned

each one

in the wind
like tambourines turning
light green dark green light
green dark
and we’d walk

past the tree shadows long
across the lawn
note the mallard
couple oddly
in the grass along the path
how the sun
splatters paint so thick-
ly on the picnic
tables and
i’d ask him
what color he’d say

the wind-

ruffled pond was
and it would take him
forever to answer

About nosuchthingasastraightline

I grew up in tiny Lyme, New Hampshire, where I drew, roamed the surrounding woods, and first entertained the idea of God while listening to my mom's Beatles records. I studied biology at Harvard University where I wrote for The Harvard Lampoon and also began writing poetry. I have since made a living variously as a comedy screenwriter, teacher, and private tutor in math, science and writing. I’ve released three CDs of original music as the singer-songwriter and guitar player for Crooked Roads (listen to latest tracks here: https://soundcloud.com/crooked-roads). My poetry writing has been inspired by Rumi, Billy Collins, William Carlos Williams, e.e. cummings, Antonio Machado, Federico Garcia Lorca, and others. My two books of poetry, "The Morning I Married the Sky," and “Free this Morning” are both available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to soundless the sun

  1. Barbara Buckmaster says:

    I love this one. Are you communing with Vincent a lot these days?

    Just finished our 5 day retreat and am resting up for a few days. I had my cell phone with me and read your poem to a couple of friends. (The poem on the cell ph cover you gave me.) they were very moved and wanted me to send a copy. I have no more of your book of poems …..can you send me one?

    Let’s talk later in the week.

    Lots of love, mom

    >

  2. I particularly liked this poem too. i love when the ending to a poem just comes along as i’m writing it and surprises and delights me, as this one did.

    yes, i am communing a lot with vincent. i am reading a biography of him–a very fat book–and it’s having quite an effect.

    so glad your friends liked the poem! are they able to order copies on Amazon? if so, that would be wonderful (also if they left reviews… 🙂

    talk to you soon!
    love, chris

Leave a Reply

