sanctimonious bears
spin cactus flowers of love while
the elderly react
by having ginger-ale
for breakfast

that sentence
is a tune

some will like
while others will not
but let us all come

together like members
of a church
in absolute

agreement that it makes
no sense

of which we are aware

 

About nosuchthingasastraightline

I grew up in tiny Lyme, New Hampshire, where I drew, roamed the surrounding woods, and first entertained the idea of God while listening to my mom's Beatles records. I studied biology at Harvard University where I wrote for The Harvard Lampoon and also began writing poetry. I have since made a living variously as a comedy screenwriter, teacher, and private tutor in math, science and writing. I’ve released three CDs of original music as the singer-songwriter and guitar player for Crooked Roads (listen to latest tracks here: https://soundcloud.com/crooked-roads). My poetry writing has been inspired by Rumi, Billy Collins, William Carlos Williams, e.e. cummings, Antonio Machado, Federico Garcia Lorca, and others. My two books of poetry, "The Morning I Married the Sky," and “Free this Morning” are both available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

Leave a comment